PDA

View Full Version : Erase & Install, then SuperDuper?

Macworthy
11-01-2010, 01:28 PM
Apparently AppleCare says I have an issue with "system file structure" and that's what's causing my blue screen of death and they want me to do an erase & install. I've got 21 days left of AppleCare so I want to get this going in case it ends up being a hard drive issue!

I have my iMac backed up with SuperDuper on an external hard drive, and I am able to boot from it and see that it has backed up properly albeit 21 days ago (kicking myself for that on).

I don't understand how I get that information back on the hard drive. I've looked through the SuperDuper PDF and I can't figure out what step to take first. I am a novice and really nervous about messing it up.

Do I need to do the erase & install first, THEN somehow bring the backed up system on to the the iMac?

It's an iMac Aluminum running Leopard (what ever the lasted update is).

Thank you for your help! Sandy

dnanian
11-01-2010, 01:45 PM
Right, you'll start up from the backup, make sure you're happy with it, then do an erase-then-copy to restore (using, typically, "Restore - all files" as the script).

Before you start up from the backup, I'd suggest naming it the same as the internal drive, to ensure that any bits and bobs refer to the backup and not the internal.

Macworthy
11-01-2010, 02:17 PM
So I'm going to:

1. rename the superduper backup to match the imac's HD name which is still just the default "Macintosh HD". Can't I do this by connecting it to my MacBook?

2. do the erase & copy with the apple install disks, the copy part will be finding the backup and pointing whatever is prompting me there?

Thanks again.

dnanian
11-01-2010, 02:19 PM
Didn't you say you already booted up from the backup, Sandy? Yes?

Macworthy
11-01-2010, 03:02 PM